In 2019 we added two new categories to the World Cinema Film Festival and an extra day of screenings and talks.

In 2019 we saw a total of 6 winners, 3 international and 3 Barking and Dagenham.

Our list of mentors also grew, as well as our exposure and outreach within the local community as we held the festival for the first time ever at the home of the new Dagenham film studios.

2019 winners 

Short film


Head Space by Timon Williams

Barking and Dagenham

Once An Old Lady Sat On My Chest by Candice Onyeama

Short documentary


Altruistic by Emma Edwards

Barking and Dagenham

Parai: The Beat To Freedom by Nali Sivathasan

Short Animation


Kite by Sagar Funde

Barking and Dagenham

Trouble With Trains by Dannt Baxter


Casting director Suzanne Smith (Good Omen, Outlander, Origin)

Concept Artist Po Sing Chu (Wonder Woman, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Hunger Games)

Head of Film for Barking and Dagenham Lisa Dee (Locations expert!)

Director of Photography Fabian Wagner (Game Of Thrones and Justice League)

VFX Supervisor Stuart Penn (Avengers: Endgame, Gravity and Paddington 2)

Casting Director Dixie Chassay (The Favourite, Anna Karenina)

Documentary Filmmaker Sophie Robinson (Netflix’ My Beautiful Broken Brain)

Actress Danielle Vitalis (Soon Gone: The Windrush Monologues, Timewasters, Stath Lets Flats)

Director Kate Herron (Netflix Sex Education)

Actor Kiell Smith-Bynoe (Ghost, Enterprice, Stath Lets Flats)

Costume Designer Charlie Knight (Bodyguard, Hot Fuzz, Call The Midwife)


Short film

Jonathan Brackley, Writer and Producer (BAFTA winning channel 4 show HUMANS)
Suzanne Smith, Casting Director (Outlander, Boys Don’t Cry, Deja Vu, Sex and the City)
Rebecca Johnson, Writer and Director (The Rook, Honeytrap, Supergirl and The Magicians)
Kat Buckle, Literary agent (Curtis Brown)
Fabian Wagner, Cinematographer (Game of Thrones, Justice League)

Short documentary

Sophie Robinson, Emmy nominated filmmaker and producer (My Beautiful Brain ‘Netflix’, Mumford and Sons; We Wrote this Yesterday)
Goran Olsson, award winning documentary filmmaker (The Black Power Mixtape 1967 – 1975, Concerning Violence and Am I Black Enough For You?)
Deepa Keshvala, Cinematographer (music videos: Jorja Smith, Ray Blk, commericals: Burberry and Adidas)
Joelle Bertossa, Producer (I Am Not Your Negro, A Skin So Soft, Sam)
Tim Cragg, Cinematographer (Sundance winning film Three Identical Strangers)

Short animation

Jellyfish Pictures (London based winners will receive a tour of the studio followed by a meeting with on of their animators. International winners will receive a Skype call and review of their work)
Suz Loshin, Development and New Media Manager at Pixar (Incredibles 2, Cars 3, Finding Dory and Brave)
Elizabeth Martin and Lauren Hynek, Writers (Disney’s live action movie Mulan)
Art Director Ryan Jefferson Hays (Aquaman, Ghost in the Shell, Guardians of the Galaxy)

Submissions are via Film Freeway

Sign up for our newsletter

Join our Newsletter!

Sign up to our film and TV newsletter for company updates, job opportunities, short film reviews and more.